h1

Spring Term, Fresh Start

April 7, 2010

We are off to a new term, and with this new term comes new faces and new possibilities.

Our group has had a long break since it was last up and running but we must not forget why we are doing this. Our languages are important and they do not stop living while we are at school and away from our homes! Our language learning and caring should not stop merely because it is inconvenient for us, but it should continue no matter where we are.

At this point it is almost as though we are starting from scratch. We must not forget that we are capable of doing many great things for ourselves, the Dartmouth community and also our home communities. We can learn from one another and we can then take home what we have learned here and apply it to our own communities. The possibilities are there, now we need to take advantage of them!

2 comments

  1. My Name is André Cramblit and I am a NAD 1986. I just found out about your group and your efforts in working with Native Languages. I have served as the CHairman of my Tribe’s (Karuk) Language Restoration Committee since 1988. We are one of the very few Tribes that have received 4 consecutive ANA Language grants. I feel that the efforts to revitalize and preserve our languages is one of the major priorities in Indian Country.

    I have often thought that Dartmouth should have a series of classes (or a concentration) in Linguistics for the layman. It would include basic concepts of linguistics ie: morphology, documentation, dictionary development etc. as well has instructional methodologies. These classes could be taught by existing Professors such as John Rassias or by visiting experts.

    If there is anything I can do to support your work please feel free to contact me: andrekar@ncidc.org


  2. I apologize I should have started my post with:

    Ayukìi, náa níthvuuyti Imshápaneech, karú náa vúra masuh’áraar-karuk’áraar. Hello my name is André, and I am a Salmon River Native, a Karuk Tribal Member. I am from a family of Dance Leaders from the village of Kaatimiin, the center of the Karuk world, near the confluence of the Salmon and Klamath rivers in northwest California.



Leave a Reply

